Sodaro's Stories

November 23, 2010

Beautiful, fickle muse

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 8:29 pm

I was reading the new edition of Writer’s book of Days by Judy Reeves (this book has a writing prompt for every day of the year and is fantastic for filler days when writing projects are not flowing!!!!) and she said this about the muse…”Though she has the patience of a saint, the Muse doesn’t like to be ignored. If you don’t pay attention, she may stop paying calls” (2010, p. 109). Truer words were never spoken. I went through too many weeks, months, yes…I’m ashamed to admit, years where I kept telling her to hold on one second…just one more second and I’d get back with her. And she went away as would anyone that has been ignored for so long. I would have feared that she was gone for good except that every so often I would get the inspiration for a poem or story idea that was so intense it could not have come from me alone, and I would be reassured that she was there, just off stage, waiting for me to get my life back under control. She never gave up completely…but I had to have worn her patience clear through to the breaking point at times.
Judy Reeves went on to say “the muse doesn’t keep a time schedule. She may ignore your requests for her presence and then show up when you least expect her and when it’s most inconvenient. She does not honor demands” (p. 110). Again…truer words were never spoken about the beauty and the unbending way of the Muse. But I don’t mind at all…she keeps the words flowing across the page and I keep her sweet tooth satiated. It’s not a bad deal after all.

2 Comments »

  1. Oh, my. I totally agree with this. I took time out, necessary time out I might add, and the muse sulked and is still sulking. I will, however, persevere and I’m sure she will return. Hopefully the flood of words won’t overwhelm my desire to get back in the flow 😉

    Comment by Liz Carmichael — November 29, 2010 @ 6:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

