Sodaro's Stories

March 28, 2011

So close…

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 8:22 pm

“Have you heard the news?
I’m doing what I said I would.
So now you say…
I always knew you could”
“You did your best to keep me down
Tried to make my soul give in
But now I’m here to make a big, big sound
It’s your turn to lose and it’s my time to win”
Richard Marx, “Nothing you can do about it”
I always like quotes, as you know…and I was listening to my mp3 player this morning and this song came on and it made me realize that I am so close now to what I always said I was going to do…am so close to my dreams coming true…and it made me think of the people that have waited for me to do this…and have cheered me on all the way…and it made me think of the people that have been untrue to me…waiting for me to fall on my face so that they could say they knew I would fail…those same fair-weathered friends that will wait until I have made it to say “they always knew I would” when nothing in their words to me has been in the least bit supportive.
Fair-weathered friends are people I don’t understand. Why would I want you to stand by me when everything is going well when you didn’t stand by me when things were tough? Why would you get the privilege of being counted amongst my friends when I am on top of the world when it was you holding me down when the elephant almost won and I was almost destroyed. I have faced my demons and I have fought with everything in me to make my dreams come true. No one can say that I have been handed anything…my life has been full of fair-weather friends…and while they will try to say they always believed in me…I will not be able to hear them over the cheers of my truest fans and friends.
So thank you, to those that love me now and loved me then…and those who will celebrate this next step with me, honestly and faithfully.

2 Comments »

  1. Oh dear, I’ve been down that road and, like you, stuck my chin out and kept going.

    Let me know when your book is out, I’d love to buy a copy.

    Now I must go find out why I’m not receiving emails about new posts from the people’s sites I’m subscribed to.

    Comment by Liz Carmichael — March 29, 2011 @ 2:30 am | Reply

    • I will definitely let you know about my book and will be buying your book as well! It’s good to hear from you!!! I was worried when you didn’t post for a while!!!

      Comment by msodaro — March 29, 2011 @ 2:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

