Sodaro's Stories

April 3, 2011

A walk in the park

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 3:08 pm

So, it’s amazing how something so simple as a walk in the park can make things clear…can resharpen the focus…can bring the soul peace…a simple walk in the park with a good friend…her two beautiful children laughing…can bring back a sense of innocence and peace to a soul that is sometimes jaded by the events of the world. I was so wrapped up in my own world…so wrapped up in my to do list, that I almost didn’t take the invitation of my friend to join her and her girls in celebrating one of the first nice days we have had this year…but I went…one thing I have learned about my friend is that she sometimes knows me better than I know myself and while that should scare me, it does not…for she is not the only one to know me this well…that path was tread a couple of years ago by a very protective growly bear that loves me and keeps me on solid ground…These two friends know when I am starting to spiral out of control and they firmly and lovingly put me back on the right path.
And yesterday, a simple walk in the park which reminded me of another walk in the park that is never quite forgotten…a time when I believed in positive, beautiful things that have since grown thorns and rough edges…it reminded me of a time when I believed in love and would never have settled for less than love…something I have done time and time again since then. I need to believe in love to keep it real in my stories. I need to believe in love to keep it real in my heart. I need to get back to the point where I won’t settle for less than all that I deserve. And if I have learned anything from the destroying of my elephant…I have learned that I deserve greatness in all aspects of my life.
So thank you, to my friend, and her two, beautiful beautiful girls…who each held my hand at some point in the walk and made me smile…thank you for the lessons learned from a simple walk in the park.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

