Sodaro's Stories

July 1, 2011

Needing a change

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:44 pm

“To find joy in work is to discover the fountain of youth.” Pearl S. Buck
When I started where I teach now, I thought I had come home. I remember calling my best friend and saying “this is it…the place that I will stay forever”…but I am not a forever-type of girl…I get bored; I get restless; and when I get bored and/or restless, it affects all parts of my life. My normal solution to this has been to move…but I happen to like my little nest and think it will do quite nicely until I get my island…
I like Pearl S. Buck’s quote and most times I think about it in terms of writing…for if any of you have seen me in my writing frenzied state you know that I am a 6-year old hyped up on sugar and pop. I am swimming in the fountain of youth…doing high dives off of the top of the fountain and nailing the perfect dive…or cannonball. I think also though, that the enjoyment of work still needs to include teaching…and it still does sometimes where I currently am…but there are also some aspects that make me feel older than my years, more cynical than I am comfortable with, and as if I am drowning in the fountain that I want to play in.
So a change…not a major change..not a “take this job and shove it” kind of change…I still like enough aspects of it to stay and keep my toes in the fountain…but some type of change.
Also, I need more structured time right now…having too much free time when I’m still not in control of what is happening with my first book…it is being worked with in the format/packaging aspect…which is really really exciting, but not at all anything I have anything to do with…added to the mental discontent at certain aspects of my my job…and it’s causing me problems. So this is a possible change…and I need some change.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

