Sodaro's Stories

July 29, 2011

Dreams do come true…

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 9:47 pm

A year ago, I started this blog, and I was wondering what I would write about for my year-anniversary…and then Tuesday happened…and this was not just any other Tuesday…no, my friends…this was the Tuesday that showed me that dreams really do come true.
On Tuesday, I received an email from iUniverse that my book, my first-born, my Whatever you Make of It was live and that my copy, my very own-hold-it-for-the-first-time, isn’t-it-the-most-beautiful-thing-you-have-ever-seen copy was in the mail.
There are no words to express all that went through my mind…and attempting to teach class that night was interesting…I probably owe an apology to my students, because I am pretty sure that I was mostly worthless as all I kept thinking was right at that moment…my book was on its way to me.
It was also amazing…I got to watch one of my closest friends be the FIRST to purchase my book…I watched her add it to her cart and click place order…and all I could do was scream and jump up and down behind her. Other coworkers came over to see that I was not dying…
I am a published author. Let me say that again, in case it didn’t sink in for you either…I, MICHELLE DENISE SODARO, am a PUBLISHED author. Wednesday morning I woke up with that one thought in my head…and I really thought I had understood the concept of surreal before…I did not…I do now. It is amazing how I can go through the motions of my day…brush my teeth, scrunch my curls, pet the kittens, teach my classes…all the while the knowledge that I have a book out there in the world (one of many) on its way to people’s bookshelves and hearts…just dancing around my heart. I wondered, Wednesday morning, if I looked any different. I sure felt different.
So, my book is available to purchase. It is available through iUniverse currently, and in a couple weeks will be available through Amazon.com and BarnesandNoble.com…
And this is what it feels like to have a dream come true. I’m a fan.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

