Sodaro's Stories

October 28, 2011

Bite by bite…

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:27 pm

The two best books I have read about writing are In Writing by my hero, Stephen King and Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. And while my complete adoration of Stephen King and all of his goodness, today, I am thinking about the basis for Anne Lamott’s book. The premise, without spoiling the book for any of you writers that want to read it…which I highly recommend, is that her brother was overwhelmed by a report about birds and their father offered the absolute wisdom of tackling the paper bird by bird.
Since I am constantly over-filling my personal plate…I am altering the wisdom and am going to tackle the items I have put on the plate (I think that may be the most frustrating part…I did this to myself…AGAIN) but I am going to go at it bite by bite. I am going to continue to make my lists (ah…OCD…how I have loved you) and I am going to work on one chapter of one thing; mark it off the list…then one section of one paper; mark it off the list…one article for my literature review; mark it off the list.
I have already started this concept this week…wanted to take it for a test drive, so to speak…and in the last 3 days, I have added 5 pages to my doctorate paper, 4 articles to my literature review, and finished chapter 19 of Arianna….so it appears to be working.
Have no fear…I do have each section of my plate represented on my list…I’m nothing if not equal…damn Velveteen Rabbit story making me think all things had feelings and if there was not equal attention and love…anyway…my bite by bite theory seems to be working well…and so here it goes!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

