Sodaro's Stories

December 16, 2011

This one’s on me…

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 2:45 am

“No one ever told me to become a writer; I blame myself.” Tom Grimes
Everyone is so supportive…it amazes me every single day…and I am grateful every single day as well…that being said, I must concur with Mr. Grimes. No one told me to be a writer…no one said, “you know what you should do, Michelle…you should become neurotic and frenzied when you are under the influence of inspiration; you should think about your characters and your plot every waking moment and most sleeping moments; you should have imaginary friends that talk and sing and tell you stories so that you can write them down. That would be a great, stable career choice for you.”
People have told me often that I should teach…that I should never stop teaching…that I was made to be a teacher. Now I don’t disagree with them. I enjoy teaching and I enjoy intelligent dialogue and the creative interchange that happens in the classroom. I hope to have quite a few good years left in me in one classroom or another. Love it. Love it. Love it.
But a love that is equal to my love in the classroom, a love that in the quiet hours when I put pen to paper and then fingers to keyboards…is my love of being a writer. To know that my first novel is out in the world…to know that people can purchase my first born and meet Jac and Jyn and Johnathon and Rebecca….to know that they hold in their hands the first tangible evidence that I am an author…and to know that I have so so so many more stories left to tell..that is a powerful drug indeed.
I love being an author…even when it makes me accept cereal for dinner so as not to interrupt the pen on paper, even when it makes my pretty hair all piled up on the top of my head in some unrecognizable nest…even when it makes me forget such details like paying bills on time and going grocery shopping (usually it’s when I run out of coffee, creamer, or cat food that I remember to buy food)…even when I have conversations with my characters and wake up at 2:30 in the morning for the perfect scene or bit of dialogue. I would be a writer even if no one ever bought or read a single work of mine…but I am also very grateful that people have bought my first born and told me of how they enjoyed it.
“Paperback writer” was playing when I played this…gotta love Pandora. And I’m only creeped out a litle bit, that 99% of the time it knows the perfect song to play.

2 Comments »

  1. I would love to be able to tell a story…a delightful gift indeed! Instead I am quite content with the gift of hearing one. Focus is also not a gift I have received, but when I can find a good book…I dive into it forgetting the world around me. For that I thank those that sacrifice staying on top of daily tasks for someone else’s escape from reality!
    Cheers!

    Comment by Matt Cragg — December 16, 2011 @ 9:01 am | Reply

    • Matt, if you ever want to tell that story…I’d write it for you!!!! Until then I am going to keep writing stories that I would want to read with characters I would want to meet. So far…that seems to work for me and for the people who have read what I write!! It’s an amazing life.

      Comment by michelle sodaro — December 17, 2011 @ 2:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

