Sodaro's Stories

July 17, 2012

My lists have failed me today

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 2:24 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So, many of you know that I am a chronic list-maker…I make lists about my lists…and then cross that off the list. Lists calm me when things get swirly and help me focus when my overly full plate starts to spin and make a mess (which almost never happens…or almost always happens…I forget which).
I have a list of things I need to get done today…a list of tasks that need to occupy my time until I can pretend to sleep tonight and hit the road tomorrow for four days away from work and life where I get totally PhD immersion and four nights of hotel comfort, writing and RELAXING. While this isn’t a vacation, per se…it is AWAY…and that is enough for now.
But before I get to then, I have to get through now…and I have very specific things I need to do now, to get to then…but, um…well…I don’t want to. I want to get past now, now….and get to then, now. As it will take longer to get to then, if I just sit around and wait for it, I will force myself to get my things done now…but my lists today bring me no joy because I keep flipping the list to tomorrow…
sigh…it’s going to be a long day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

