Sodaro's Stories

August 26, 2012

Work in Progress

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Life is the art of drawing without an eraser.” John Christian
Anyone who has ever witnessed my attempts at drawing may find it interesting for me to use a quote that gives an art metaphor to explain life, but I think it works quite efficiently.
Each of us, each of our lives, is indeed a work in progress. Every experience we have, good or bad, leaves its permanent mark on our canvases. Our lives are not white boards where we can meticulously erase every random speck and have our canvas be shiny and clean (and those of you who have been with me in a room with a white board know the significance of this).
Just like my classrooms, sometimes I get so obsessed with the mistakes on my canvas, I can’t even see the whole beautiful picture. Every speck and line, whether intentional or accidental, has made me into the person I am today, and without meaning to sound vain, the person I am today is pretty amazing. The friend I have become, the woman I have become, the lover I have become, the teacher I have become, the author I have become…all of those things have come from the picture and random marks on my canvas…and I wouldn’t trade the person I’ve become for anything. (Though on the less metaphoric white board, I will still continue to erase the random specks…just saying)
I want to thank every artist who has added to my canvas…every person who has added beauty or sadness, who has added color or darkness, every one who has added to the picture or left the random speck, whether intentional or not…thank you.
I’m a work in progress and always will be…but the picture is turning out even more beautiful than I could have ever imagined.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

