Sodaro's Stories

November 4, 2012

the ups and downs of being a writer…

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:26 pm
Tags: , ,

“Every writer I know has had trouble writing.” Joseph Heller
Some days writing comes easy-breezy. The pen is a natural extension of the hand and my characters act out the scene in front of me and all I have to do is keep up. This was day one and day two of the NaNoWriMo challenge. I got my word counts to where they needed to be, I felt on top of the world. I was euphoric.
Yesterday, and this is always a sign that I’ve come down from the high, I was more concerened with my handwriting than I was with my words. It was painful to get to 1000 words, but I wouldn’t let myself get up until I had gotten to that point at the very least. I do have some standards, after all.
The thing with writing is that I do it every day. Some days it is all sunshine and smiles and my pen glides across the page…Some days it is as if I am having to etch words into stone using a toothpick…but I do it every day. It may be first thing in the morning (my preference) or it may be right before I go to bed at night (which can have some strong effects on my sleeping time, as you can imagine). It may be for an hour…it may be for a day, whatever I have time for on that particular day.
I sound manic-depressive. I know this…but I would be willing to bet that any writer worth his or her salt would say the same. Days when it comes naturally, I forget that this is “work” that this is something I get paid to do. Days when it is a challenge to get one more word written down, I think people are crazy to choose this profession. Of course…we don’t really choose, do we…
Today I will try again. I will add to my chapter from yesterday and I will get my word count in. I will get this done. It may not be pretty, but it will be a first draft…which is, after all, the entire point.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

