Sodaro's Stories

December 9, 2012

These are a few of my favorite…pens

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 3:49 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So, it’s not news to anyone (hopefully) that I have an addiction to pens. If you have ever had a conversation with me and you are holding a pen, my mind is trying to focus on what you are saying, but really, I want to “borrow” your pen…my first action with said borrowed pen will be to sign my name. It is always good to see if it would be a necessity for my book tours. And sometimes when I “borrow” your pen, I will immediately hand it back to you…you see this as me returning borrowed goods. I have just informed you, ever so quietly, that your pen is not up to my standards. It’s still a fine pen…but more for sprints than marathons. If I buy a pen that is not made for marathons, I leave them in a cup on my desk…oh, you need a pen, well here you go.
Also not news to anyone, I have always had an overactive imagination. The Velveteen Rabbit has affected me my whole life, and I seriously worry that I offend or hurt the feelings of pens I reject. I worry that secretly they plan to make my favorite pens bleed out in the middle of the night…I worry that pens I used to love but have now found pens I also love (sometimes even, *gasp* love more) that the pens I used to love are somehow aware of this. This makes me sad…you may think it should make me question my sanity…but dear friend, I stopped questioning that a long time ago and have accepted it for what it is.
I don’t want pens to feel unloved…but if I am sitting down (as is my goal every day I am able to do so) for an 8-hour marathon of writing, I need a pen that is going to keep up with me, not get ink boogers, not make me have to go back over letters, is going to be bold enough to be easily read, but not so bold that it bleeds through…
It’s rather complicated to be me.

2 Comments »

  1. I ❤ pens as well. I'm a pen and paper writer so it makes sense. I buy colored pens and then attack them with nail polish to make them truly mine and truly inspiring. My sister, also a writer, looks forward to a periodic gift of a special pen that I made while thinking of her. We lovingly refer to it as the "Pen of Power" that is only to be used when in a funk and needing help.

    Comment by Tiffany A. Robbins — December 10, 2012 @ 11:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

