Sodaro's Stories

January 9, 2013

Ideas

One of my favorite questions is when people ask me where do I get my ideas….because in a writer’s world…anything is fair game. Little snippets of conversation, a comment made or look given, a dream, a scene on a television show that I could do better, a picture in a magazine, a line from a song, a fight, a drama-filled chat…I think you get the picture. Everything is fair game.
For example, Whatever you Make of It came from a book I read where I wanted to talk to one of the characters who was not behaving the way I thought he should. I tried talking to him, but he ignored me and continued on with his plot. So I created a book where a person reading a book could talk to the characters and not be ignored.
Arianna’s Honor started with a scene that ended up not being in the novel until p.231. That is where that story started for me. That is the scene I saw that started the whole novel. I am being intentionally vague here…those of you who have the book can look at the scene I mean. Those of you who don’t…well you might just have to buy the book now won’t you šŸ˜‰ See what I did there.
Hat Trick and the entire Lucky Charm series started with a Missouri Mavericks hockey game that I attended with some of my favorite friends. There was a super fan in the stands getting us all pumped up…he became JD. A hockey player I thought was dreamy became Ty…and so on and so forth.
Cassidy’s story, which will be part of the Back on Track series came from me ignoring the elephant in the room for too long. The entire premise of the series is people not dealing with the one thing that they need to deal with…thus the elephant.
It is always fun to know how a story idea got started. I always want to know that of my favorite authors as well. I also want to know that about songs…what inspired this song? Are the two still together if it’s a love song? What demons was the person working through in this one? Did it work?
So I love it when people ask me that question. I love it even more when I have a specific answer instead of …hmmm…I don’t know…it just came to me.

1 Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

