Sodaro's Stories

April 3, 2013

Endings

“Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end: then stop”
Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
Endings are peculiar things, which makes it no wonder this quote from the fantastically peculiar Alice in Wonderland,  came to mind as I was pondering the ending to Redeeming Trust. Those of you who have been with me a while, know that, as a general rule, endings vex me. There is an almost paralyzing fear of endings because they are the epitome of a bad taste left in the mouth.
Endings can mean the difference between a reader recommending a current book, or not…and a reader picking up another book by me, or not…
The ending to my first two, came to me w the help of my muse, who is always on the job and often laughs at her human for the undue stress I cause myself.  But it was a different kind of stress. Arianna’s Honor has a sequel which is already outlined. Whatever you Make of It could have a sequel or be a series. It’s open.
Redeeming Trust, however, IS the sequel. I need the ending of Broken Trust to be strong enough to get people to Redeeming, but I need Redeeming’s ending to be solid. There won’t be a third one to tie up any remaining loose ends.
So as I am outlining, in pencil, where I want the last third of the book to go, I am wondering about the King’s advice to Alice…and thinking about knowing when I get to the end, to stop.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

