Sodaro's Stories

June 5, 2013

Falling into place

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 2:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“When I am trusting and being myself…everything in my life reflects this by falling into place easily, often miraculously.” Shakti Gawain
This concept, amazing in its simplicity — is exactly what has been happening in my life right now…
For a while now, I have realized that my truest passion, my truest ME is being an author. Don’t get me wrong, I still love teaching and I still give it my all. When I am in the classroom, I am as eccentric and energetic as I ever have been. My love of discussing and learning still drive me as my role as a teacher, but now, I leave teaching and the things that go with it (grading, lesson planning, obsessing) at my desk at school. when I am away from my desk…I am an author. I am not Ms. Sodaro, Instructor. I am Michelle Sodaro, Author.
I have embraced my life as an author. I have started talking about being an author in the present tense, not in the future tense. I AM an author, not I will be an author. When I made this shift in tense, amazing things began to happen. I began to meet more and more creative people. LOVE IT. I began to be more and more creatively productive. LOVE IT. I began to, as my blog stated earlier, have more and more ideas to turn into novels, articles, and non-fiction books. LOVE IT.
Recently I have kicked my “I am an author” statement up a notch. “I am a full-time author.” I have already started to notice the change in my perspective and my writing has been free-flowing and strong; my projects have joined my fictional characters in their persistence to be worked on and finished, and with the exception of yesterday, my wrist has not ached from the increased pen-to-paper time.
I have absolute faith that everything else will indeed fall into place as well (financial being the one worrisome aspect of my full-time author/part-time teacher gig). ..but I am embracing my truest ME and I know everything else will fall into place accordingly. Just wait.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

