Sodaro's Stories

June 21, 2013

The hard part

Writing is the easy part…when the words just dance across the page and there is very little thinking involved. I always feel like my characters act out the scenes in front of me and it is my job to just get the actions and the dialogue down on the paper. This is not the hard part…even on bad writing days, this is the easy part.
The hard part is the editing. When you have to make sure that the novel on the pages in front of you is as shiny as it exists in your head. When you put the characters under the microscope. Are they described well enough? Are their character traits specific? Do they appear as real in the minds of the reader as they do in the mind of the author. It’s nerve-wracking and stressful. It’s easy to get overwhelmed by this task. But I will persevere. I will get my book edited and make it one step closer to get published. This will happen. I have done this before and the end result was more than worth it.
I edited Whatever you Make of It and Arianna’s Honor and they were both stronger for the doing of it. Broken Trust is now on the editing table, and it will not only make the story of Ben and Sam stronger, it will also set a more compelling story for Ali and Vince in Redeeming Trust, which will next on the editing table. All the while I will be continuing to write the first draft of Arianna’s Destiny and how fun is it to be in my head right now 😀

2 Comments »

  1. I so agree! I dread editing(dreaditing?) but I’m always happy I did it and got thru it.

    Comment by seanpaulmahoney — June 22, 2013 @ 5:17 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

