Sodaro's Stories

June 26, 2013

FOCUS

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 3:38 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

“Now is no time to think of what you do not have. Think of what you can do with what there is.” Ernest Hemingway
It is so easy to focus on what you do not have. You don’t have enough money, you don’t have a relationship. You don’t have the physical health you want. You don’t have this. You don’t have that. Before you know it, your mind has spiraled out of control and you forget why you even got out of bed this morning.
Then, that small voice whispers to you…”wait.” And you picture in your head the future you have dreamt of…you picture the steps that will lead you to that future. You picture yourself working every day, building every day, making progress toward your every goal…
I needed this reminder…I needed to remember to focus right now. I need to keep my end goal in sight. I need to work toward that goal every single day. I need to do this. My “gift of time” has no definite end date, and I need to make use of this blessing. I need to keep the negative thoughts at bay and I need to remind myself that everything I do now, is for the future I know will come.
Of course I could use more money. I don’t know a single person that couldn’t. And I am teaching my classes. I am searching for another source of income. I am praying for direction. Of course I would love to have a relationship, but where I am right now, it would be very close to a distraction, and I need to focus. Yes, I could be in better physical health, but I am working every day to get there.
What I need to do, is think, as Hemingway said, of all that I can do with what I have. I can write full time right now. I can improve ME in any way I need to. I can breathe.
Don’t lose faith now. Just hold on to that image that is in your head and work toward it.

2 Comments »

  1. amen and amen

    Comment by Barbara Kleinfelter — June 26, 2013 @ 4:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

