Sodaro's Stories

August 2, 2013

Stone Soup

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 7:07 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have.” Maya Angelou
Remember the magic of the story, Stone Soup? Where the more soup they ate, the more they had…yeah, this is what it’s like with creativity. Maya Angelou put it perfectly…of course.
I have had people ask me if I was afraid I would run out of creativity…if like an empty Coca-Cola can, I would run out of that which helped to bring my novels and teaching to life. Nah…I’m good. I may run out of patience occasionally, I may run out of ink in a pen (a moment of pride each and every time it happens), I may run out of hours in the day…but creativity??? Nope.
The nice thing about being a teacher and an author is that they keep the creativity going and bounce off of each other. My muse loves to play…and whether the play is a novel and the characters or the play is with lessons and lectures, my muse gets more energy and is therefore more productive. The happier I keep her, the more creativity that pours out of my fingertips either through pen or through keyboard.
It is an amazing phenomenon, to be sure. The more I get to be creative, the more creativity I feel…which is good…because I have a lot to do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

