Sodaro's Stories

October 20, 2013

Game Plan

So those of you who have “known” me for a minute or two, know that one of my favorite things is to have a game plan, most often taking the form of a list or twelve. I love making lists…I love completing tasks on my lists, and I love love love to mark things off the list. Sometimes I will add something to my to-do list just so I can mark it off. Being a visual person, it calms me to have a game plan…to have a list…to know what my goals are and to know the steps I need to take to accomplish that goal.
I published Whatever you Make of It in 2011 and holding my first book changed my life forever. I knew at that moment, that never again would writing take a back seat to the rest of the things in my life. I was an author.
I published Arianna’s Honor in 2012 and it was just as amazing and breathtaking to hold my 2nd book as it was to hold my first one. The rest of my characters looked on and all wanted to be NEXT.
Sometimes life gets in the way of things…sometimes life works out just the way it is meant to, even if we don’t see it at the time. I will have Arianna’s Destiny out before the end of 2013 and then it is completely my game plan to have 2014 start off time of kicking things up a notch and publish more than one novel a year. I have things I need to finish and that is what the rest of 2013 will be…First and foremost it is finishing Arianna’s sequel. It will also be editing the two books in the Trust series. I will also be participating in the National Novel Writing Month with First Down which starts off my Lucky Charms series.
The best thing about a game plan is that it keeps me focused. It keeps me motivated and it keeps me on track. I have a list of things I need to accomplish for Arianna…and I am making progress on my list daily. I also have a list for what I need to do for my other projects and for the rest of 2013. Seasonal Affective is strong…but giving a list to someone with slight Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, and the darkness of winter can’t possibly win.

2 Comments »

  1. I love how you describe holding your published books the way a mother speaks of her infants 😉 I also love having a game plan, it helps me feel in control of my life and like I can handle anything that comes my way. Nothing feels better than a list where everything is crossed off!

    Comment by Aussa Lorens — October 20, 2013 @ 10:42 pm | Reply

    • I really feel it is like that. I don’t have any children, but they first time I held each of my first books, it was that amazement and wonder that I have heard parents talk about. And lists are fantastic! !!

      Comment by michelle sodaro — October 20, 2013 @ 10:44 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

