Sodaro's Stories

January 12, 2014

Writing Advice

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 5:55 pm
Tags: , , ,

“Here’s the secret to finishing that first book. Don’t rewrite as you go.” Laurell K. Hamilton
This vampire author has excellent advice. I would never get any books done if I was doing the stop-start-stop-start of editing-writing the first draft. First drafts are magical with my muse as the director and my characters acting out scene after scene with me frantically trying to write it all down and just keep the hell up. When it works like this, I am not even paying attention to the words as they flow across the page. I am simply writing out hte scenes as they are acted out. We’d (my muse, my characters, and I) would never get anything done at all if I tried to edit during this process.
So I completely agree with Ms. Hamilton’s advice. the problem came in when I would finish first drafts and instead of then starting the separate process of editing that draft, I would just start on my next novel. I would get my next characters up on the stage of my mind and just get to writing. This is the reason I have 5 first drafts just sitting in my office.
The truth of the matter is, I can’t stop writing. The meaning of that is two-fold. With all of the novels in my head, there is always a story I can be writing on (which helps keeps the writers block far, far away from me) so it’s a good thing I can’t stop writing. The other side of that is, it’s not good for me to be around other people if I’m not writing. On my BEST day, I can be difficult to be around. I am well aware of this fact. Writing on a daily basis makes me nicer to be around. I am more patient and well-balanced and so for this fact, I try to write every day, at least a little.
What I realized last year, was that it works REALLY well if I write on one project in the morning. This way I’m still balanced and making progress. Then, after my teaching job is done, I edit on a previous project, thus making progress that will lead to publication. NO, I don’t know why it took me so long to figure this out. Yes, I will do this from now on…

3 Comments »

  1. Do people really do that? Rewrite as they go? I can’t imagine trying to do that.

    Comment by T. D. Davis — January 12, 2014 @ 6:22 pm | Reply

    • Haha, I can’t imagine it…I like to have the whole first draft done before I even think of editing. I like to know where the story ends up so I know the best way to get to where I’m going. 🙂

      Comment by michelle sodaro — January 12, 2014 @ 6:27 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

