Sodaro's Stories

June 22, 2014

Not Crazy…

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 8:49 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

“She’s not crazy, just a little misunderstood.” “Misunderstood” Better than Ezra
Not to mix my cultural references, but I know I’m not crazy even though my mother never had me tested.
At any time I have about 20 characters in my head and they all like to discuss their present and current scenes. I have a muse who is directing the entire universe that exists in my head. I have thoughts bouncing around my head about dreams that I have had that may become stories. I have a million things that I need to do now that Arianna is about to launch her sequel.
None of this makes me crazy. A lot of this makes me misunderstood. With this many conversations in my head at any time, I try very hard to act like a “normal” person and have conversations with the people in my life, either through Facebook/texting or face to face. (I still hate talking on the phone). Almost every conversation I hear, I am filing away for possible novel dialogue. I am constantly studying people…their mannerisms, their quirks, their speech. All of these things make me more than a little awkward with conversations…and interactions with people. Again, not crazy…just misunderstood.
As a teacher I have always been confident in my interactions with people. I always try to be very clear and easily understood. I focus my energy and really try to communicate well and efficiently. I’ve been doing it for 17 years and more often than not, accomplish my goal…somewhere in my personal life, I lose this ability. A couple of weeks ago I thought I was finding a new friend…a connection of sorts…and this has even added to my dreams. What I thought was a new friend, turns out I was creepy. I’m not crazy…but more often than not I am misunderstood. Ah well…luckily with my novels, I get multiple drafts to make sure my message comes across well 😀 My characters don’t have to be awkward, just because I am 😀

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

