Sodaro's Stories

December 1, 2014

Reflecting on my 1st successful NaNoWriMo

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:31 pm
Tags: ,

I did it! I put 50,000 words in order for chapters 1-24 on ONE novel…I did it!! I worked (mostly) on only one project for the entire month of November. This was my 3rd year participating and 1st year that I made it! I did it!!! As with other years, my novel can’t be verified because I write out all of my novels longhand and count up my words to know where I am and where I need to be…but I know I made it…and that is enough for me. (I have the pages and pages of word-filled notebook pages if anyone doubts me :D). I got Driven West through chapter 24 and while it will probably end up with 16 more chapters as it grows, I got the 50K in 30D and that was a major accomplishment for me.

I got my novel past the chapter 12-20 where it’s all rising action, but not too much…have to save some for later…and develop those characters and move the story along…okay, go faster, okay now slow down a bit….get it just right. This is a major pit for me and where most of my novels end up on the back burner. (I don’t even want to count up how many back burners I have with novels stuck around chapter 15).

I know where Driven West is going and I know how to get it there. I will continue to add to this novel a bit here and there…it is not going to be my next published, and my attention needs to go back to my Lucky Charms series (a fact that woke me up a few times in the night with my characters who have been relatively patient during the month of November, reminding me that it was now December and I needed to get back on track.

I had a co-worker ask me, if I could write a first draft in 30 days, why didn’t I do that all the time…and I know his question was meant in a supportive manner…my coworkers are fantastically supportive…but I just kind of got this blank expression on my face when he asked…50,000 words in 30 days is an amazing accomplishment, but being a full-time teacher and a full-time writer, that word count pressure is a bit difficult of a pace to keep up with. Plus, I already have a bunch of rough drafts that need to be worked on 😀 But it did make me think of what I can do 😀

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

