Sodaro's Stories

December 3, 2014

Starting out Behind

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:20 pm
Tags: , , ,

I love the beginnings of months. It always feels a bit like a fresh start…little mini blank slates (the ultimate blank slate of the calendar of course being in…oh look at that, just a few weeks now). And I always have so many plans for each month, things I hope to get accomplished and make progress on. Among that list is the novels I am writing, exercising more, getting my budget under control, etc. etc. etc. Some months I make more progress than others…and usually, I make the most consistent progress on my novels, figuring I can always exercise and get my spending under control next month, but I need to write RIGHT NOW!!!!

Right now I am feeling very behind. I am looking at my 2014 resolutions and I am looking at the days left in 2014 and I can’t help but notice my remaining to-do list is longer than there are days left in the year. I am behind on EVERYTHING…well, my job is where I am closest to not being completely behind (could I put more qualifiers on that sentence)…but that is because, it pays the bills I am behind on. The nature of my job, though (which I love and which has helped me love teaching again) is to never be completely caught up…there is always more to do…one more assignment to grade, paper to write, discussion to respond to, etc. etc. etc. So there is no sense of “done” (for those of you who know me, you know how much I like to mark things off my list as done…so this is an adjustment. 😀

I did get Arianna’s Destiny published this year, which I am extremely proud of and happy about…but I didn’t get any of my other planned novels out. I didn’t get any of my first drafts completely edited…need to get my covers made…need to get drafts finished…need to get so many things ready…set…go.

It’s hard for me to feel like I’m behind at the beginning of any month, but more so this month because the next new month is starting off 2015 and I really want to accomplish a lot of things in 2015…and I want to start off caught up, not behind…

So it looks like I have some work to do to finish out 2014 and start 2015 strong. 😀

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

