Sodaro's Stories

March 29, 2015

My Roots are Showing

Don’t worry…my hair is fine. I still make sure to keep it blonde.

Recently, one of my closest friends, who is as amazing a writer as she is a person, recently, she followed her heart and moved to Texas. I couldn’t be happier for her finally embracing her true geographic destiny. She is living FEARLESS and I couldn’t be more excited or more proud of her.

Her move got me thinking about my geographic “home” and I was actually surprised at what I realized. I have always called Chicago home and have always just thought that Kansas City was just a place I was passing through. I have moved around the Kansas City area more times than I can count…those of you who have known me have probably given up trying to keep track of where I live.

I was looking at my novels, as I do with every major decision in my life, and I am happy to report the trend I noticed in the novels I have been working on currently…of the next seven novels I will publish, all of them are set in Kansas City. As I was looking at them, I realized I am very comfortable having my characters call Kansas City home, and if my characters are comfortable here, if this is where they work hard and play hard and fall in love and raise their families…if Kansas City is good enough for the fictional people who live in my head, then it is good enough for me too.

And for those of you who are curious…the novels that are set in Kansas City are: Broken Trust, Redeeming Trust, First Down, Stealing Second, Hat Trick. Driven West, and Seducing Cupid. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

