Sodaro's Stories

April 20, 2015

Revising – how it is different than editing (A-Z Blog)

Filed under: Uncategorized — michelle sodaro @ 11:27 pm

So I talked about editing– with the colorful pens and critics invited in and all of us going through the draft with a fine-toothed comb, looking at grammar and consistency and does this need to be taken out or added to.
Revising is another beast entirely. By this time in the process, I have written the first draft, it has been typed and marked through and all changes have been typed. The draft is printed and now is the time to look at the beginning, the middle, and the ending.
Is the beginning of the story strong enough…
**I personally give a book I am reading 3 chapters (this is also what a lot of agents look for with a query).
**Does it draw my reader in and make them HAVE to read more?
Is the middle set in a good pace?
**Does it keep the action progressing and still give my readers a chance to catch their breath?
**Do my chapter endings have a “I will just read one more chapter” appeal?
Is the ending to the story a SOLID ending?
**Are there any loose ends or unresolved issues (if there is a sequel some issues need to stay unresolved, but this novel should stand on its own.)
**Is it an understandable ending? Note: I didn’t say good ending or happy ending. Not all characters are guaranteed one…but the ending shouldn’t leave the reader saying “what the hell just happened?
**Will this ending make my readers want to pick up my next novel?
It is a lot to revise a novel– but as with every part of the writing process, it is worth doing well.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

