Sodaro's Stories

April 23, 2015

Talking about your work — when to do it; when to stop (A-Z blog)

Filed under: Uncategorized — michelle sodaro @ 1:13 am
Tags: ,

I was thinking about this when a friend was showing me pictures  of their nes baby, because in some ways it is a lot like having a new book or project. Some people are really excited about what you are sharing and some people are just being polite…pay attention to nonverbals, as with everything.
Your book is exciting! Amazing! Fascinating! Awesome! Impressive! Intoxicating! Unbelievable! A REALLYA BIG DEAL! And all of these things are true…to you. Just keep in mind that not everyone is as excited about your novel as you are.
I have been pretty open about the fact that I am an author and a teacher…so people tend to ask me about both, which is always nice. I love when someone asks what I am working on now because then it is a  green light to talk about the very thing I want to talk about ALL THE TIME.
Other authors tend to be more accepting of random outbursts of novel chatting, but make sure you ask about their projects as well.
One word of caution…there are times when you can talk too much about your writing..I know…I was surprised as well…but hear me out on this one.
I found myself talking about my writing MORE than I was actually writing. I don’t mean to state the obvious here, but it seems to me that talking about something doesn’t get it accomplished. Like those people who always complain about their life and do nothing to fix it…well if you are talking about your novel, which you should, make sure  you are WORKING on your novel just as much or your project will forever remain unfinished.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

