Sodaro's Stories

June 2, 2015

Ambition (30 days of blogging 2015)

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 5:06 pm
Tags: ,

Edgar Bergen “Ambition is a poor excuse for not having enough sense to be lazy.”

I often find myself wondering what non-authors do on Sundays. What do people do who aren’t writing every free minute of their lives? Who aren’t working a full-time job they love and then putting in another 30 hours into a part-time “job” they also love, when that 2nd job doesn’t currently pay the bills, but is hopefully paving the way for a future as an author.

I have had to teach myself that it’s okay to have a lazy day once in a while — that it is healthy and actually helps with productivity to take a few hours, an entire day, or even an entire weekend (that’s as long as I dare out of fear I’d realize I enjoy being lazy). It can be a good way to recharge my batteries, which then makes for stronger, more productive writing time…which then recharges me even more, and I will just run with it.

I have been told (usually by 1st dates that have no chance of becoming 2nd dates) that I am too ambitious and why don’t I just relax about this “writing thing”…um, Check please! Any questions where that date went wrong?

My game plan is be able to embrace full-time writing with in the next 5 years and to be able to make a living with books created with that “writing thing” and guess who won’t be invited to enjoy this next chapter of my life…yup, every one who thought my ambition level was too high.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

