Sodaro's Stories

June 11, 2015

FINISH!!!!

“Write. Finish what you write. Keep writing.” Neil Gaiman

It really changed everything for me when I published Whatever You Make of It as a finished, published book. I not only knew I wanted to make a living as an author, but also, I realized the power of finishing things. On top of that, I learned the importance of keeping the cycle going so I always had writing on my plate.

I have heard of authors who only work on one project at a time, which I look at with mixed feelings. On one hand, wow…what is it like to have that kind of focus? To have only one plot line — one cast of characters…in your head at one time. No potential for cross-contamination of story lines. No calling a character by the wrong name (which is EXACTLY as awkward as it is in real life; trust me!)

The downside of this, at least for people like me, is that having only one project at a time, I don’t actually think this would help me to finish more projects (though for others with different minds, I can see its appeal). But for me, the potential for writing myself into a corner and actually have to deal with WRITER’S BLOCK, which is truly a rarity with multiple projects.

Another reason one project at a time doesn’t work for me is because of how intense the different parts of the writing, editing, revising, publishing process. It is an emotional roller coaster and one that keeps me motivated and focused.

If I had to deal with only the exhilarating writing part; I would forget to eat or go to work or get proper rest.

If I had only one novel in the editing phase, my perfectionism would get WAY out of control until I had left no comma or semi-colon un-turned.

If revision was the only phase I was in, I would just keep restarting the novel to see how I could kick it up one more notch and how a tweak here or there would just keep me forever in that loop.

The publishing part would have me eating a lot of ice cream because as wonderful as it is, It is also emotionally draining…it’s hard getting your kids ready for their first day of school.

So I need all four parts of the process to run concurrently in order to write more and, more importantly, finish more.

I am really grateful I learned about the power of finishing things. Life changing, lesson learned.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

