Sodaro's Stories

June 13, 2015

Critics…

Filed under: Uncategorized — michelle sodaro @ 5:44 pm

“If you are not afraid of the voices inside you, you will not fear the critics outside you.” Natalie Goldberg
I do believe I have battled and defeated this particular demon. I know my stories will not appeal to everyone and critics can tell me something doesn’t work at all and I can learn from this advice and become stronger as a writer.
Of course external critics are (even at their worst) far kinder than my internal critics, which are absolutely brutal. I used to never want to finish things because that would mean I could, and would, be judged and the critics I knew most intimately (those inside my head) were absolutely terrifying.
Then I realized that they weren’t so terrifying after all…in fact, they were quite helpful when it came right down to it…and if they were going to help my novels stronger, then I should probably listen…and just like that, my inner critics were no longer scary.
As with every fear, once you face it, it loses its power over you.
A definite fringe benefit of conquering my fear of my inner critics, I also lost my fear of external critics as well. After all, what could they say to me that hadn’t already been said inside my head?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

