Sodaro's Stories

June 17, 2015

Actions over words

Filed under: Uncategorized — michelle sodaro @ 11:22 am

“You are what you do, not what you say you’ll do.” Carl Jung

In everything we do, regardless of whether it is good or bad, productive or destructive, healthy or unhealthy…our actions indicate what kind of person we are.

Any one can make plans. Anyone can talk — say what they are going to do. You can recognize these people  because their most often repeated phrase is “I’m going to…” (or, “I’m gonna” if you prefer, and can ignore the twitch it causes me.)

As an author, I hear this one a lot (as a teacher, I hear it a lot as well…”I’m going to get caught up”), but as an author, I hear…

“I’m going to start writing after I ____________.”

“I’m going to write when my vacation starts.”

“I’m going to finish my degree first, and then I will write.”

“I’m going to start writing after this one little episode of Law & Order” (come on now…everyone knows there is never just one episode).

This “going to” epidemic is true in every field. I’m going to start dating when I lose weight. I’m going to start exercising on Monday, the first day of the month, at the start of the new year. I’m going to start a savings account when I get more debt paid off. Whatever it is.

The difference you will notice is some people are really “busy” doing a lot of talking and not making a lot of progress.

While other people are walking around proclaiming to the world, “I’m going to write a novel.” Sound the trumpets. DOO-DAH-DOO. “LOOK AT ME. I’M GOING to write this novel!!” And all the while they are announcing their plans, I sat down with a beverage and my pen and notebook. I have Pandora playing in my ears and I am putting pen to paper.

Anyone can say “I’m going to do this…” I have found you can tell a lot about someone’s character, not by what they are “going” to do, but by what they actually do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

