Sodaro's Stories

June 19, 2015

Get to work

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 8:14 pm

“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” Stephen King

If I only wrote when I felt inspired to do so, I would never get anything done…and I am inspired to write quite a bit…there are still a lot of days when I am just not feeling it…where it feels like work…where I would rather do anything else, or nothing else…I know without a doubt, that the days when I want to write the least, are the days when I NEED to write the most…and though it might start out slow going, eventually the words start to trickle out. Maybe it stays a trickle…some days it does. Most days that trickle of words becomes a bit more free flowing and I feel whole again.

I try to write every day of the year…even if it is just a reflection or a blog. As often as I can, I try to write at the same time of day. Mornings work best for me (though are not always conducive to that job thing I have, and as I love that job thing, I make concessions). I have found that if I write first thing in my day, it clears up my mind for the other things I have to do that day. When I can’t write in the morning (because of the time or responsibility restraints of being a grown up with some modicum of social skills) there is always a part of my mind that is not at all focused on the tasks at hand because it just keeps repeating “Let’s write.” “Um, are we going to write?” “We need to write.” “So, about that writing…” (I have thought about getting up earlier on those days when I have morning tasks, but I am rather a fan of sleeping when it is dark outside.)

Writing every days some days comes from inspiration, and some days is work…but Stephen King seems to think that’s the way to do it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

