Sodaro's Stories

June 24, 2015

Books I want to Read

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 9:57 am
Tags: ,

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” Toni Morrison

As an author I have always thought that I write stories I want to read with characters I want to meet. There are so many books I want to read that don’t exist yet. Lucky for me, I have already started writing them.

I used to think I needed to finish reading every book I had started. Then in an interview I read with Stephen King, he gave all his readers permission to not finish every book they started because there are far too many books out there to waste time on ones we don’t enjoy.

When I published Whatever you Make of It, I then found another reason that I didn’t have to finish every book I started…and that was the the stories I wanted to read didn’t exist yet, so rather than waste time trying to finish a book that didn’t catch my attention (I usually give a book until chapter 4 to catch me). I could be spending my time on my novels that don’t exist yet.

So get to writing, Sodaro, you have future novels to read that have only been started so far.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

