Sodaro's Stories

August 4, 2015

Flying

“Now her heart’s a mess — praying she’ll find a way to make it.

So keep on climbing, though the ground might shake

Just keep on reaching though the limb might break.

We’ve come this far, don’t you be scared now.

Cause you can learn to fly on the way down.”  “Fly” by Maddie and Tae

I came upon this song accidentally on Pandora who had connected it to something I liked (or however the magic works). After hearing it, I was so moved by the lyrics, I had to listen to it again. It brought to mind the quite by Kurt Vonnegut (other authors have their own variation of it as well) “We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.”

One of the things I have fought to have more in my life is the power to be more fearless, to face my fears and do the things I fear the most. To fully live the life I am meant to live and to not let fears keep me from the things I need and want to do. I need to be flying and finding my wings on the way down.

I need to be fearless with meeting new people. Evidently, I will never find another chance at love if I don’t go out and meet people. I have tested this theory. Plus, think of all the potential future characters for novels.

I need to be fearless about sending my novels out into the cruel, cruel world. I hesitated sending my first novels out to agents. Whatever you Make of It and Arianna’s Honor/Destiny were not as easy to put into a specific genre other than fiction (though there are elements of magical realism in all of them). Broken Trust and Redeeming Trust are most definitely romance and so will be the entire Lucky Charms series. I need to create and send out query letters for them. No more excuses, Sodaro. Face this fear.

I need to be more fearless about my author life. I need to be protective of my writing time and my resources. I need to embrace my author life as fully as I am able to do so and increase this as I can, given my other responsibilities.

I need to be absolutely fearless with my budget and my health.

Everything I have ever wanted in my life, I have had to take a leap of faith and be fearless. I have always found my wings on the way down. Time to fly again, Sodaro. Watch me go!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

