Sodaro's Stories

November 4, 2015

30 Days of Author Gratitude: Students

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 12:32 pm
Tags: , ,

Okay, so technically this one is more about the teacher side of me than the author side of me, but my students are some of my strongest supporters, so it still fits…and it’s my blog, so I do what I want.

I have taught for 19 years. I have taught 6th grade (yes, I know…it was frightening for me too) to college. I have gone to countless graduations and too many funerals (even one would be too many).

I remember when I still taught for Winnetonka and Mom and I were at Metro North Mall (yes, it was THAT long ago) and a student, Amy Holman, came running up to me. Mom was so amazed that my students would acknowledge me IN PUBLIC. It happened and has happened so often in my teaching career that I am constantly amazed and humbled by it. I never want to take for granted that I played a role in their lives, just as surely as they have played a role in mine.

I would say more than half of my friends on Facebook are former students. (No, I didn’t actually do that math…if you know me at all, you should have assumed that). I get to celebrate their joys and successes and get to virtually hug them with their sorrows and am again amazed and humbled that they choose to keep connected with me.

My students have always been what has kept me teaching, even through the bad days. Some have become friends who I absolutely could not imagine my life with out. All have left a mark on my heart and have made my world a far, far better place.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

