Sodaro's Stories

November 5, 2015

30 Days of Author Gratitude: Technology

Filed under: Uncategorized — michelle sodaro @ 12:58 pm

Okay, so those of you who know me, maybe either laughing or just outright confused by this one…because I am grateful for technology and yet still consider the fax machine to be a bit of wizardry…not to mention that one time I REALLY believed the cables were faster because they were green. *Ahem*

I am grateful for Google Maps. I can get lost in a parking lot (and have too often) so it is nice that my phone will reroute as often as I need it to, in order to get me from point A to point B. It’s also a special kind of magic that lets me know how long the drive would be from KC, MO to Utah for Driven West, and what is the best route for my characters to take to get to a small town in Michigan in Redeeming Trust (Oh, I don’t have to say spoiler alert…I didn’t give anything away).

I am grateful for Facebook (mostly grateful, mixed in with some annoyance, but we’ll keep it positive since this month is all about gratitude). I have gotten to reconnect with friends from middle school, previous students, and other writers whom I likely would not have met otherwise. I also get so share my level of geek with the whole world…and, of course promote my writing, my Chicago Bears, and my kittens.

I am grateful for the internet, which gives me a teaching job, allows me to email people to stay connected (something I definitely need to do better and more often), keeps my search history so I can go back to things I have looked up (it is definitely one of the most interesting parts of being an author…if you ever want to know if an author is plotting against you, check their search history. It’s all research…I swear 😉 Lastly the internet allows me to sell my pretty books and given the popularity of ebooks, it’s safe to say that is just going to become bigger every year.

I am grateful for the magic wand at the doctor’s office that takes my temperature by waving it across my forehead.

I am grateful for the x-ray and MRI machines that let me know my knee pain was arthritis and not just me being a wuss.

I am grateful for microwaves and their form of magic (since popcorn is actually one of the few things I can eat while in a good writing zone) and I really look forward to when they can prepare full meals like in Fifth Element. Chicken. GOOD! (Although I can’t eat all of that while in a writing zone)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

