Sodaro's Stories

November 28, 2015

30 Days of Author Gratitude: My time

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 5:10 pm

Sometimes I get stressed out about how far behind I am on things. My NaNoWriMo word count, my Redeeming Trust edit, my non-fiction projects, my other novels, my weight loss goals, my grading, my bills….so many things to be behind on and it can cause so much anxiety, which is one of the best ways to make sure nothing gets done at all. Hey, you know what would really halt all progress and productivity???? Let’s have an anxiety attack caused by our own worries about not getting things done…that sounds helpful.

Every so often I have to remind myself, that as much as I am looking forward to my full-time author life…to my second career where I get to write and work on my novels and projects all day every day (and no one can tell me it’s a waste of time because it does pay the bills…as if that is the defining factor)…I am also aware that the deadlines I have now are no where near as stressful as the deadlines that will occur when author is the job title I put on my taxes.

The deadlines I have now are self-imposed and liable to change (sorry those of you waiting for Redeeming Trust, I promise I am working on it). They change with life stressors (of which there have been real doozies the past few months) and teaching responsibilities (as that is the current career that pays the bills). Deadlines that are self-imposed are a lot more flexible…and right now, with everything else going on, I am extremely grateful for them being bendy.

I am grateful for my having my time. I’m grateful for days like yesterday when I got to write all day and didn’t have to even open my computer, though again, I missed a day of gratitude blogging. I am grateful for 2 days ago when the day was all mine because I know in future years it will be different. But for now, I am grateful for my time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

