Sodaro's Stories

December 1, 2015

My thoughts on NaNoWriMo 2015

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 5:03 am
Tags: , , ,

So as my 4th National Novel Writing Month comes to a close, I think back on the things I have learned since I started this.

The first year, I told myself for the month of November, I was only going to work on my NaNoWriMo novel and that was it…no side projects, no distractions, not even any writing prompts for other novels. I got blocked in chapter 12 (which is usually my nemesis)

The second year, to not have a repeat of year one, I had multiple projects going in addition to my NaNoWriMo project…and yes, I went from feast to famine, from drought to flood, from desert to ocean…I think you get the point.

Last year, I had my NaNoWriMo novel, but I also had prompts and an outline for that novel, which made a huge difference. Also, I had one other project I would write on to keep the ideas flowing. I finished NaNo and it was a good year!!!!

This year, I had my NaNo novel, which is going strong and I love my characters!!!! I also had Redeeming Trust which I am editing to get to my reader to be able to click send. I thought, no problem, I can just work on both…except that the editing side of my brain doesn’t always want to coexist with the writing side of my brain and my two projects were almost warring with each other as to who got dibs on my time.

I sit here with 37, 848 as my final word count for Don’t Let Go (final for now as I will continue on with the draft in December). So I didn’t get it done. I sit here with 2 more chapters to write on Redeeming Trust  and then typing my edits, getting to reader, to put inside the pretty covers that are done. SO I didn’t get that done either.

So lesson learned. Do not try to get a drafted edited for publication the same month as NaNoWriMo!!! Lesson learned!

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

