Sodaro's Stories

December 22, 2015

Happy Holidays

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:12 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I don’t get upset when people say “Happy Holidays.” I don’t get upset when people say “Merry Christmas” either. I don’t get upset when people wish me “Season’s Greetings” any more than I would be upset if they said “Happy Hanukkah” or “Happy Kwanzaa.” Why does it matter what I celebrate? If people want to wish me good tidings, you better believe I am going to take those good tidings and the happiness that goes along with them. I know people get offended by this. I don’t. I am simply happy that someone is wishing me happiness.

It’s a strange world we live in right now. Words have always been powerful (I am an author, and I know how powerful words can be). But people are getting so offended by things and I just shake my head at some of it. If someone says “Happy Holidays” it doesn’t mean they don’t love God, it doesn’t mean they are anti-Christmas…to me it just means there are A LOT of holidays going on right now. It also means they want you to have happiness at a time of year where there are statistically more suicides than any other time of the year. To me that is not a bad thing at all…to me that is kindness, and if you ask me, the world could use more kindness.

I think about this as an author quite a bit. I try to keep my feelings about holidays from being reflected in all of my Characters. Valentine’s Day is one I especially watch because while I prefer my loved one to celebrate his love for me not just when Hallmark tells him to, that is just me. I intentionally make some of my characters like Valentine’s Day. Same with Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Fourth of July (which causes me anxiety to the point I can’t enjoy fireworks), etc. I do the same with Christmas time. I want my characters to be celebrating humanity. Celebrating each other. I want them to celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa…whatever fits the story…but I also want them to wish happiness on others…because to me, that is what this season (whatever you call it) is all about. A reminder for us to wish happiness for our fellow man.

Whatever you celebrate…whatever you believe…I wish you peace and happiness as we close out yet another year.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

