Sodaro's Stories

April 5, 2016

A-Z Challenge: Dahl

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 11:59 am
Tags:

“I don’t care if a reader hates one of my stories, just as long as he finishes the book.” Roald Dahl

First of all, I can’t imagine someone not loving Roald Dahl’s stories…he was all over my bookshelves as a child.

But more than that, I am conflicted about this. On one hand, I would love for everyone to finish every story of mine they start. I would love that. I think that would give me a fair shake to win them over…

On the other hand, Stephen King, (unbeknownst to him, of course) gave me permission a few years back to not finish every book I start. I give a book 3 chapters usually, and if it hasn’t caught me by then, then I release it back into the wild, acknowledging it’s just not a good fit for me.

My books are not going to appeal to everyone. And I’d rather them not waste their time if my book is not something they are enjoying. There are far too many books out there to waste time with something you don’t find intriguing or interesting…and if you can put down a book and walk away from it, not picking it back up again…just to see…maybe just a bit more…If you can put it down, even my books…though it hurts me to say that, then that story is not for you.

Life’s too short to read bad books…but I’m still hoping none of mine qualify.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

