Sodaro's Stories

April 6, 2016

A-Z blog: Emerson

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 1:01 pm
Tags:

“Fiction reveals truth that reality obscures.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

I wrote my Master’s Thesis on the healing powers of writing…I cannot even compute the amount of therapy money that writing has saved me…and a notebook is always cheaper than a therapist and there are no judgments or labels…just freedom to explore something and find out how you really feel about it.

If I don’t know how to deal with something  or don’t know how I feel about something…I write about it. If I don’t know how something could work out, I write about it.

If I am angry, hurt, confused, sad, happy, stimulated, frustrated, pissed off, irritated, enamored, whatever…I put it in a story…I don’t have to play nicely…I don’t have to bite my tongue. I don’t have to put on a brave face. The gloves come off…the mask comes off and I can finally just explore how I really feel about something. I can tell the truth in fiction. I am free to express whatever I feel, without having to hide or worry about being considered rude or awkward. I can just write and have my characters tell truths I am not ready to say myself.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

