Sodaro's Stories

April 24, 2016

A-Z Blog: Salvatore

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 11:59 am
Tags:

“If you can quit, then quit. If you can’t quit, you’re a writer.” RA Salvatore

Recently, a writer friend of mine stated he had written his last book. Part of my soul cried, but the rest of me just nodded. “He’ll be back…” and I was right.

I talked about this on the P day of the challenge. I used to think about quitting writing a lot more than I do now. 6 years ago things changed and I still hear his voice in my head “You’ve said you wanted to be an author for as long as I’ve known you, so do it. Be an author.” And then the next year I published my first novel, Whatever you Make of It. When I held that green cover in my hand for the first time, I knew everything had changed. I could feel all of my projects go “Oooooh….when is it our turn.” And I thought, when indeed…best get to work.

Around the same time, I quit playing World of Warcraft. Quit cold turkey. I still miss it. Quite a few friends of mine are gamers, and I’ll listen in to their game chatter and just soak it up…I am not allowed to play until I have 10 books published…but I can listen…and then get back to writing.

There is no quitting. There is no going back now. My novels each deserve to have a shiny cover and be represented in ink as tattoos. I can’t quit, Mr. Salvatore…I’m a writer!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

