Sodaro's Stories

April 25, 2016

A-Z blog: Thoreau

Filed under: Writer's thoughts — michelle sodaro @ 12:58 pm
Tags:

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.” Henry David Thoreau

So it is interesting that I picked this one (a favorite of mine) and that it landed on this day…after the conference and at the beginning of a difficult week for me. 6 years is a long time and simultaneously an instant in the grand scheme of the universe. It is also, as luck would have it, on a Monday…and who wouldn’t want to wake up to the life they have imagined on a Monday.

I am working on it, Mr. Thoreau…I am working very hard to go confidently in the direction of my dreams. Working very hard to live the life I have imagined. I now have a list of agents to query (and a shorter way to get that list created, thanks to my roommate…)

Some days the life I’ve imagined seems so very far away…and sometimes it seems so close I jump and wonder if I truly am as ready as I claim to be. This morning is one where it seems almost unreachable it is so far away, but I blame that on having the Mondays, and missing a friend who truly is too far away, and my pretty curls being frizzy from just enough rain to cause frizz…but I am still making and keeping plans in the direction of my dreams. “Fake it till you make it” has gotten me through the entirety of my teaching career as well.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

